"For God did not send His Son into the world that He might condemn the world,
but that the world might be saved through Him." John 3:17


Additions to Daniel (Apocrypha), Chapter 1
Judith (Apocrypha)
Esdras (Apocrypha)
Additions to Esther (Apocrypha)
Susanna (Apocrypha), Chapter 1
1 Maccabees (Apocrypha)
2 Maccabees (Apocrypha)
4 Ezra (Apocrypha)
Prayer of Manassheh (Apocrypha)
Sirach (Apocrypha)
Wisdom of Solomon (Apocrypha)
Baruch (Apocrypha)
Tobit (Apocrypha)
Bel (Apocrypha)

Although the writings known as the Apocrypha are often not included in Protestant Bibles, they were translated and included in the original King James Bible of 1611, and they are offered here for use by interested readers.

What is the Apocrypha?

The term "apocrypha" was coined by the fifth-century biblical scholar St. Jerome and refers to the biblical books included as part of the Septuagint (the Greek version of the Old Testament), but not included in the Hebrew Bible.

Several works ranging from the fourth century B.C.E. to New Testament times are considered apocryphal--including Judith, the Wisdom of Solomon, Tobit, Sirach (or Ecclesiasticus), Baruch, First and Second Maccabees, the two Books of Esdras, various additions to the Book of Esther (10:4-10), the Book of Daniel (3:24-90;13;14), and the Prayer of Manasseh.

The apocrypha have been variously included and omitted from bibles over the course of the centuries. Protestant churches generally exclude the apocrypha (though the King James version of 1611 included them). The Roman Catholic and Orthodox churches include all of the apocrypha (except for the books of Esdras and the Prayer of Manasseh), but refer to them as "deuterocanonical" books. In this context, the term "apocrypha" generally refers to writings entirely outside of the biblical canon and not considered inspired (such as the Gospel of Thomas). These same books are referred to by Protestants as the "pseudoepigrapha."























R. Stewart Braswell, Webmaster
Last Updated: 04 March 2015